Batman V. Superman

My consensus is in!  I say it’s a hit, contrary to what many reviewers seem to have said.  But critics always tend to mystify me anyways.  I have heard people laud movies that I have found myself unable to even finish, and completely trash films I absolutely loved, and many of these reviews were by the same people.  I see negative reviews on raunch comedies because they are raunch comedies.  If that’s the kind of movie you are going to and you don’t like that sort of thing of course you’ll hate it, same with most genre movies.  But for this movie, regardless of multiple people’s differing opinions, and this is art, so of course they will differ.  Art is so subjective after all.  When I hear things like: “the story was predictable,”  and “the character’s motivations were formulaic,” or “Lex Luthor wasn’t bald,” being reasons to not like something, I say, what the fuck?  Like I said, I don’t care if you hate it, love it, or are indifferent to it, but critics need to get with the program, and give more legit arguments for why movies suck.  Predictable? Of course.  It’s no secret that Lex Luthor is evil, or that Superman loves Lois Lane, or that Batman sometimes has a hard time seeing the bigger picture.  I mean, people freaked out when the human torch was black, and let’s face it, flop or not, that wasn’t an important factor in deciding that that movie sucked.  But that’s last year, this is now.  Unlike the Marvel movies, or the 60’s Batman show, or the awful Green Lantern movie, DC doesn’t deal too much in camp or light-hearted romps, and for that alone, some people automatically stand against it.  But cinema is a higher art, as well as a super fun art, why can’t it be both in the same movie?  And the plot being the basic god v. man argument, makes it compelling enough whether or not it’s about superheroes.  it is the ultimate age old question after all.  Did it sometimes lead you into a filler-space to prep for an entire series of movies?  Of course.  But was that extra filler worth seeing?  Certainly.  Were Batman and Superman irrational in regards to picking their fight?  Of course, but they’re dealing with someone who excels at being not one, but two steps ahead at all times.  Superman has super everything, but he can only do what he does best, if he knows exactly what he’s looking for, and Batman is similar in that regard.  Was there more than half of this movie, having characters not in their respective capes and tights?  Yes.  But it was a movie that truly added depth to their overall characters, and the ultimate payoff was well worth the wait for the amazing epic fight in the last half hour or more of the movie.  It made me laugh, made me cry, made me go, “What the hell was that?”  especially in regard to the dream sequence,  and it also got me excited about the future of this franchise, the actors were cast perfectly, much to my delight, and my only real complaint, which none of the reviewers I read seemed to mention, was that Wonder Woman, played wonderfully by Gal Gadot, was sorely underrepresented throughout.  I get they wanted less of her backstory to dive deeper in further films, but they also made her a key player who had hardly any lines,I would have liked more dialogue, and maybe even another little scene or two featuring Diana Prince.  That is all.  No kryptonite at the bottom of this bottle….

Leave a Reply

